TABLE 4
Appointment of the Secretary-General, 1946-present

Secretary-General appointee	Date of Security Council meeting	Date of General Assembly meeting
Appointment of Trygve Lie	30 Jan. 1946	1 Feb. 1946
Continuation in office of Trygve Lie		1 Nov. 1950
Appointment of Dag Hammarskjöld	31 Mar. 1953	7 Apr. 1953
Reappointment of Dag Hammarskjöld	26 Sept. 1957	26 Sept. 1957
Appointment of U Thant as Acting Secretary- General	3 Nov. 1961	3 Nov. 1961
Appointment of U Thant as Secretary-General	30 Nov. 1962	30 Nov. 1962
Consensus of the Security Council members welcoming U Thant's readiness to consider serving until the end of the General Assembly twenty-first regular session	29 Sept. 1966	
Extension of U Thant's appointment until the end of the General Assembly twenty-first regular session	28 Oct. 1966	1 Nov. 1966
Reappointment of U Thant	2 Dec. 1966	2 Dec. 1966
Appointment of Kurt Waldheim	21 Dec. 1971	22 Dec. 1971
Reappointment of Kurt Waldheim	7 Dec. 1976	8 Dec. 1976
Appointment of Javier Pérez de Cuéllar	11 Dec. 1981	15 Dec. 1981
Reappointment of Javier Pérez de Cuéllar	10 Oct. 1986	10 Oct. 1986
Appointment of Boutros Boutros-Ghali	21 Nov. 1991	13 Dec. 1991
Appointment of Kofi Annan	13 Dec. 1996	18 Dec. 1996
Reappointment of Kofi Annan	27 June 2001	29 June 2001
Appointment of Ban Ki-moon	9 Oct. 2006	13 Oct. 2006
Reappointment of Ban Ki-moon	17 June 2011	21 June 2011
Appointment of António Guterres	6 Oct. 2016	13 Oct. 2016
Reappointment of António Guterres	8 June 2021	18 June 2021