## States serving one year or a "split term" on the Security Council

Year	States
1946	Egypt, Mexico, Netherlands <sup>1</sup>
1956	Yugoslavia
1957	Philippines
1960	Poland
1961	Liberia, Turkey
1962	Romania, Ireland
1963	Philippines
1964	Czechoslovakia
1965	Malaysia
1966	New Zealand, Uganda <sup>2</sup>
2017	Italy
2018	Netherlands <sup>3</sup>

<sup>1</sup> As provided for in Article 23(2) of the original UN Charter, three of the six non-permanent members elected to the Council for its first year of operation, 1946, were to serve for one year only so that the terms of half of the non-permanent seats would come up for election each year. The names of the three countries were selected by lottery.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> As provided for in Article 23(2) of the Charter as amended in 1965, two non-permanent members elected to the Council for the first year after its enlargement, 1966, were to serve for one year only so that the terms of half of the now ten non-permanent seats would come up for election each year. The names of the two countries were selected by lottery.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Italy has stated that it will resign the seat to which it was elected at the end of the first year of its term, 2017, and the Netherlands has stated that at that time it will put forward its candidacy to fill the resulting vacancy for the year 2018.